Art under the knife

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have taken my art into a new direction (painting wildlife) and have been experimenting with techniques I have never tried before! Sometimes I think it’s the best thing to do…is push yourself out of your comfort zone and try something new. It’s a 50/50 crap shoot anyway and sometimes we totally surprise ourselves.

It was with that spirit, I stayed with my beloved Oil paints and broke into the realms of  the…..drum roll please……PALETTE KNIFE!!!! Daunted beyond belief, I played around on a old scrap canvas to get the feel for what this tool could do and then grabbed my snorkel and dove right in. Been our own worst critics (usually) I was totally blown away with this amazing tool…below is only my second attempt at painting with a palette knife. Believe it or not, the only time I used a paint brush was to sign my name. The palette knife is my new best friend :D.

DSC_0409

“Stumpie”

Oil on canvas board

30.5 x 40.6cm

I have done a few more palette paintings since then, which I will reveal in time. 🙂

2 responses to “Art under the knife

Leave a Reply

