Wonders of the Wild Waters (part 1)

Cari-Ann - July 2008 214

Back in 2008 I got the opportunity to go to Kasane up in the North of Botswana (The country of Botswana borders South Africa) near to where the four counties of Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Nambia meet and took a trip on a river boat up the Chobe River. With all the true majesty of Africa all around me, I have only one regret and that is: all I had to capture this wild beauty was my camera phone. It was probably the only time in my life I would be able to visit such a place and thought you would enjoy a few of the photos.

Cari-Ann - July 2008 213

When we came across these three elephants, needless to say it became an immediate tourist buzz, boats seemed to arrive from the entire length of the river. Fortunately for all of us, these Magnificent animals didn’t seem to mind all the activity at this point.

As all the usual whispering oohs, aahs and a thousand camera clicks went on, these gentle giants just slowly went about their business.

Cari-Ann - July 2008 149

Cari-Ann - July 2008 052

They eventually had enough of the attention and made their way across the river, passing within approx. 4-5 meters from our boat. Their movement in the water causing our boat to rock.

Cari-Ann - July 2008 053

At this point I had switched my phone to video mode and I’m deeply sad to say I cannot find the video I had taken. These beautiful creatures tolerated our presence for what seemed like hours and when they crossed the river, the smaller elephants were completely submerged.

Cari-Ann - July 2008 054

Once they emerged again on the other side of the river, a really large tourist boat arrived and I apologies in advance for the stereotype but this boat was filled with very load, obnoxious Americans. To which the large bull took great offence and began flapping his ears in annoyance, he took his frustration out on a tree on the waters edge. Of course these disrespectful tourists thought this was fantastic.

Cari-Ann - July 2008 150

Cari-Ann - July 2008 151

Once he was finished showing off his massive power, by virtually destroying this tree, he wandered up the bank to join the other two ellies. It was just such a deep privilege for me to have witnessed these amazing creatures, in their own natural habitat, as it should be.

I have more to show you from that trip, which I will share soon 🙂 Hope you all have a fantastic week ahead.

9 responses to “Wonders of the Wild Waters (part 1)

    • 😀 It really is an Amazing place. There is more to come from that trip, so stay tuned for more aching LOL!! Yeah, I really don’t like stereotypes but if the shoe fits, I’m going to call it as I see it :D.

  1. Wow. This is nice! I don’t do wildlife photography, but I do plan to visit the continent of Africa some day. Was thinking of Kenya

    • I have never been to Kenya but photographer friends of mine have and from what they say, you would not be disappointed. Mount Kilimanjaro is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

